Business Journal


FG: “Only 7 Agencies Authorised at Ports”

Hadiza Usman, MD, NPA

The Management of the Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) has reiterated for the umpteenth time that it would enforce the Presidential Executive Order concerning the 24-hour operations at the nation’s Seaports.

The directive which had amongst others stated that only 7 Agencies are permitted to operate within the Ports, these are the Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA), Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA), the Ports Health, the Nigeria Customs Service (NCS), Nigerian Immigration Service (NIS), Nigeria Police Force (NPF) and the Department of State Security (DSS).

‘We wish to categorically state that the Federal Government had earlier in 2011 streamlined the operations of the Agencies at the Ports with the view to ensuring swift Customer Service Delivery in the area of efficient clearance of cargoes.

In this regard therefore, the Management of the NPA wishes to unequivocally state that any other Agency that has not been listed as in the above in line with this Presidential Order should henceforth vacate operating from within the premises of the nation’s Seaports, adding that when required these other Agencies would be notified accordingly.

The Management of NPA therefore solicits for strict compliance from all agencies and stakeholders concerning this directive.

Furthermore, the Management of the NPA herewith assures the entire Port Community of its continued strive to ensure greater operational efficiency at the Nation’s Ports.’

To Top