Dr. Ibe Kachikwu has been removed as Group Managing Director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) following the composition of its Board under Section 1(2) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation Act of 1997, as amended.
Kachikwu, who remains the Minister of State for Petroleum will chair the new Board with a Group Managing Director, NNPC, Dr Maikanti Kacalla Baru and the Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Finance as members.
Other members included Mallam Abba Kyari; Dr Thomas M.A John; Dr Pius O. Akinyelure; Dr Tajuddeen Umar; Mallam Mohammed Lawal, and Mallam Yusuf Lawal.
Mr. Femi Adesina, Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Mr. Femi Adesina said in a statement that President Buhari urged the new board to ensure the successful delivery of the mandate of the NNPC, ” and serve the nation by upholding the public trust placed on them in managing this critical national asset.”